Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Hi all! For the last two weeks, my plate has been full of all things techie. And while I could easily get into a debate on the correct spelling of the word techie vs. techy, I shall refrain from doing so and get down to business – namely giving you guys and gals, who are new to the world of Git and Github, helpful links in today’s ‘Techie Tuesday’ post. Or at least links which I found helpful during my first foray into this world of Git-i-ness – all on one page. Kinda like a Git/Github telephone book! 😀

Anyway, have fun! And read through the whole post before picking a link/direction.

This post was last updated: fall 2012
This is a work in progress as I am walking this road myself and thereby this post might be added to or edited from time to time. As I learn more, I’ll add more to it.

Table of Contents:


Git Resource links

These links explain some basics and have info on commands etc that you will need to know soon if not now:

>> Git-SCM.com

>> GitRef.org

>> Git-SCM.com/doc
Regarding this link, look for section 1.4 – this section covers the install for each of the operating systems. Find your system and then follow the command instructions. If this is still a bit fuzzy for you, take the info they give you for your system and use it to search the internet for more information.

Installing the Git package on Windows?

>> If you are installing Git via the download package and wish to use the GUI wizard – not command line – And you are on the Windows operating system, this link is the one to follow. The first part of this article walks you through the install and tells you which choices you should make. I’ve found it very helpful in the past. What did I do differently from the walkthrough? When the install screen asks you to select ‘which components should be installed’, I checked ‘Git Bash Here’ and ‘Git GUI Here’ under the ‘Windows Explorer integration’ section. I saw that done in a YouTube tutorial. What it does is add the two options in the explorer menu when you right click on something…mainly folders within the Windows operating system. It’s just a handy shortcut if you use the GUI a lot.

What is Git?

>> If you aren’t quite sure what Git is, you can either check out the Git Resource links I listed above, or, you can watch this YouTube video. It is a bit long, but worth the investment. You can also watch it below:

Using GitHub? Generating a SSH Key.

>> Are you using GitHub?

This link will walk you through generating an SSH key from your local Windows computer that you can use with Github. To follow these instructions, you will need to have installed Git (check out the links above) so that you can use Git Bash. 🙂 If you are on a different operating system from Windows, just click on the link and then choose the operating system that applies to you under the article title. They’ve got screenshots for everyone.

Generating an SSH -> Create a Passphrase

>> Remember that security is important. So be sure when you generate an SSH key, that you also create a passphrase! When you get to the part where you are suppose to create a passphrase, if you are in the dark as to what exactly is a passphrase, here is something to read up on.

And if you are wondering, “Well, what exactly is an example of a good passphrase pray tell?” Then check out this link. It provides guidelines to follow that will help you create a good passphrase (and passwords to boot) and it shows you both bad and good examples.

Having Problems Typing in Your Passphrase?

>> When I first tried setting up my passphrase, I was a bit puzzled because I could not type in my passphrase. I was in Git Bash, I was following the tutorial steps, but it would not allow me to type in my passphrase. Guess what? After searching the net and coming upon this answer, I discovered a vital fact that wasn’t touched on much – When you are generating a SSH key and you go to type in your passphrase – if you’re on certain types of operating systems, you will not see the characters you typed! That’s right, while you see nothing – it is really accepting your input. So my advice is to take it nice and slow and make sure your type and retype your passphrase the same. It can be done. Just don’t be in a hurry.

Having Problems with the SSH?

>> If you are having problems generating the SSH or you are having trouble connecting to Github, check out this site with its list of common issues: https://help.github.com/categories/56/articles

This post was last updated: fall 2012
This is a work in progress and thereby might be added to or edited from time to time.

