Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s Wednesday and that means – Take 5! I’ve been looking for a Take 5 that would work for today and I decided to take you back to my blog archives. I wrote the entry during this same month…last year…and it’s a ‘keeper.’ But it wasn’t quite ready to be a ‘Take 5’ entry – So, I tweaked it a bit, added some back-story for you, and pushed the clip down. I hope it becomes a favorite! 🙂

Read on:

Wednesday is upon us…Yay! But guess what? It’s raining outside again. If you commute back and forth to work, you might like the rainy weather or you might find it to be a bit of a challenge. It can be both for me – if it’s raining pretty consistently, I loath driving in it. But if the rain is misty or inconsistent, I don’t mind it as much. I find the cloudy weather to be…well, good for the creative juices. What can I say? *shrugging shoulders*

For the past good long while (and I’m talking pre-Downton Abbey here folks) I’ve been in the British classics mood. I’ve watched all the Wimseys, most of the Austen, Gaskell, Brontë, Doyle, and a good bit of the tv shows. And the question begs to be asked, does anyone else feel the way I do, that once you watch something such as these, the light ‘n fluffy feel good flix and the chick flix of Hollywood seem, well, empty. Not saying they don’t have their place, but lets just say that the more you watch the before mentioned offerings, the spot you had for lighter films seems to get smaller.

And that’s saying something given the average British Adaptation is 2-4 hours long…compared to the 60-120 minutes of the light n’ fluffies.

But what does that have to do with today’s Take5 moment you ask? Well, I thought I’d introduce you to one favorite Gaskell adaptations. This is a fan video that by far is the best I’ve seen in the ‘fan video’ category across the board. Read On for a recap and a way cool video!

Wives & Daughters is without question one of my favorite works of literature from the pen of Elizabeth Gaskell. BBC’s adaptation of the book is marvelous and the casting is simply brilliant. There are a number of seasoned British actors in the mini-series whom you might recognize from some of your other favorite BBC works.

The video starts with the scenes out of order (starts midway, then goes back to beginning etc.) But honestly, it weaves the scenes and emotions together seamlessly.

It’s set to Coldplay’s ‘The Scientist.’ How appropriate.

 

This video is super – especially if you are familiar with the film. You can relive the moments within a short timeframe — perfect for today’s break (or maybe between one of your classes). I found it on YouTube one day while searching for something to play in the background. Whoever put this video together did an amazing job and it is sure to encourage people (like you!) to watch the series in its entirety. Honestly, I’d like to see this video added as a ‘special feature’ on a Gaskell dvd collection set. (Just an idea…).

Go watch the film and…

Happy February 29th! 😀

 

